What are the side effects of chlorthalidone?



ChlorthalidoneReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
2 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/20/2018)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

Am a fit 56 year old male with hypertension which runs in the family. Started taking this drug 4 days ago. First day I had to wake several times during the night to pee. Now I am feeling very light headed and dizzy especially when I stand up from sitting down. Also nausea. Am feeling very sick and will probably stop taking this medication. Too bad as it has already dropped my BP. A small pill with powerful side effects.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/8/2018)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

The first day I took this I was hopeful because I felt better overall and it immediately lowered my BP, but that only lasted a short while. By the 2nd week I felt dizzy, had extreme muscle pain, (on scale of 1-10 pain was a 15) had a severe headache, and my BP was back up again. I'm off and not going back on.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 4 months ago (7/10/2018)

RatedChlorthalidonefor EdemaReport

It’s an ok drug. Better than lisinopril, which is made from Brazilian Viper snake venum. Extremely bad on muscle pains

Report
5 Stars
Posted 5 months ago (6/25/2018)

RatedChlorthalidonefor EdemaReport

Have been taking chlorthalidone for 8 years for kidney Stone prevention. Has worked very well. No side effects. Im 66 year old male.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 6 months ago (5/27/2018)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

I was prescribed this to help prevent kidney stones and to "lower" my blood pressure (despite the fact that it wasnt regularly high). I was sort of leary about it, but my doctor convinced me to try it. By Day 4 of taking it i had 2 near fainting episodes as well as the most horrible headache accompanied by nausea. My skin is basically allergic to the sun on this drug also, even with sunscreen. And losing water weight is such a huge risk for dehydration. Definately not taking this drug anymore.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 8 months ago (4/5/2018)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

I am taking this drug in combination with lisinpril for high blood pressure. It has been effective and I tolerate the side effects of increased urination and mild lightheadedness for better overall feeling with lower blood pressure. My physician recommended cutting the pill in half (25 mg pill) and that seemed too harsh so I have been only taking 1/4 pill to avoid higher lightheadedness and still get the benefits. It has only been six months but I feel much better except for the increased urination. I do put myself on potasium supplements once a week to counter that side effect.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 8 months ago (3/31/2018)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

I started taking Chlothalidone 12.5 mg a year ago. First week taking it I stayed on the toilet peeing everything I ever drank. I felt dizzy and my heart slowed tremendously. 8 continues to take it drs' order. After about 2 weeks I felt normal again. Then after about 6 months i was in the ER for chest pains and leg cramps. Come to find out my potassium dropped to a dangerously low level. I was given potassium to take. I'm still shocked and confused to why my dr has not put me on potassium supplements. Every time I go to dr my potassium is low.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 12 months ago (11/27/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor EdemaReport

My Dr. Put me on chlorthalidone 25mg once per day.I took it for 4 days and started getting sick,I could barely make it out of bed.I was so weak I could hardly walk.I did not know what was causing it,but on 2nd weak swelling in feet was gone and I felt great.Then I ran out of the pills.My dr.was not in so I had to wait a week to get a refill.After the 1st day taking I started getting sick again.I have been on them for a week now and feeling better.You really have to take this drug everyday.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 14 months ago (9/22/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

High blood pressure runs in my family, thru diet and exercise I was able to lower my blood pressure, but once I stopped BP skyrocketed. I was put on BP meds, had every side effect imaginable like edema, dizziness, kidney pain, fatigue, confusion, depression, lots of weight gain, etc from Norvasc,Amlodomine, Benicar, etc. Then my Dr. put me on Chlorthalidone 25 mg. It saved my life, from day 1 everything normalized. My BP lowered immediately and I lost 25 lbs of water weight, more energy and at 50 yrs old, I felt like I did at 21. One note, I have always been salt sensitive, even as a child I learbed to avoid salt, my face and body would swell after a salty meal. I could not get into my shoes or clothes for 24 hours after consuming salt. Until I started taking Chlortalidone 25 mg. It is refitted as one of the oldest American drugs from the early 1950s. Its Safe and reliable.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 16 months ago (7/24/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

My blood pressure went down immediately after I began taking Chlorthalidone, 25 mg, once each day. My ankle swelling went down immediately, like the very next day. I have had not noticed any negative side effects. A positive side effect has been me sleeping better at night. I used to have problems going to sleep but I don't now and I attribute it to Chlorthalidone as taking the drug daily is the only difference I have had in my life. I started taking the drug for 30 days, but I was traveling and the doctor wanted me to do blood work to see the effects. I now have a regular 90 day dosage with 3 refills scheduled and I could not be happier as my ankle swelling had become a real concern for me. I now need to walk daily and eat more nutritious meals... I'm working on it.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 17 months ago (6/14/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

Lowered my blood pressure to 50 had to go to tje er. Dehydrated me . Dizzy, tired, felt like i was going to faint. Tingling all over. Stop taking it after aweek my.blood pressure was still dangerously low

Report
5 Stars
Posted 18 months ago (6/3/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

Am taking this med for prevention of kidney stones I take it at night as it makes me tired. It's actually worked great for me so far I just feel better and my calcium oxalate and blood wrk has normalized.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 18 months ago (5/22/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor EdemaReport

Horrible headache, exhausted, no energy. Stopped after five days. That was no way to live. Told doctor to find a plan B.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 19 months ago (5/4/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

worked great to lower my blood pressure but raised my uric acid level up to 9,7 also my LDL went up too.This is the only drug that really worked for me so I am going to try and find a way to lower my uric acid natuarally. Make sure your doctor checks your uric acid level before taking. The first directic I took 12 years ago caused the gout and my doctor didn't see the connection. It might also lower your potassium levels too

Report
1 Stars
Posted 19 months ago (5/3/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

Prescribed 25mg. First 2 days seemed ok. 3rd day of taking it started to feel bad. Doc said, keep taking it. 4th,5th and 6th day felt horrible, dizzy, nauseous and headache, could not function whatsoever, so did not take it those days. Literally felt like I'd been poisoned and was dying. 6 days later of not taking the drug, still feeling dizzy and winded but other side effects are gone. Doc says you should not stop, but I would say the side effects for me were on the extreme side and I've had 3 kids, major hangovers, bad flus, I know what unwell can feel like, but NOTHING like this. If I try taking this drug again, I might lick it and see if that does anything to me, otherwise making a serious effort to lose weight, cut back sugar, etc. Anything better than living thru that again.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 23 months ago (1/5/2017)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

Report
2 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/27/2016)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

Report
1 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/25/2016)

RatedChlorthalidonefor EdemaReport

Feet and ankle swelling. I developed lower stomach pain as if I need to urinate often, nausea, constipation, fatigue, dizziness and sleepy.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 38 months ago (10/7/2015)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

I have been on 25mg for 3 months. I was taking Amlodopine for my Hypertention. I was weened off because of swollen ankles and no improvement with my blood pressure. The Chlorthalidone has been great. I sleep better and my blood pressure has improved to normal ranges. I had some side-effects early on (dizziness and low potassium) as of this week dropping to 12.5 Chlorthalidone, also, looking weight helps. Try it if your Dr. Recommends.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 40 months ago (8/4/2015)

RatedChlorthalidonefor HypertensionReport

Definitely better than lasix. I was taking 40mg of lasix/furosemide but it wasn't very effective. I currently take 25mg of Chlorthalidone, it gets rid of extra fluid more efficiently.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: How does chlorthalidone work?

Chlorthalidone Reviews
Chlorthalidone Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Chlorthalidone Reviews pictures

Chlorthalidone Reviews forecast
Chlorthalidone Reviews recommend photo

Chlorthalidone Reviews pictures
Chlorthalidone Reviews pictures

Chlorthalidone Reviews Chlorthalidone Reviews new pics
Chlorthalidone Reviews new foto

images Chlorthalidone Reviews
picture Chlorthalidone Reviews

Watch Chlorthalidone Reviews video
Watch Chlorthalidone Reviews video

Communication on this topic: Chlorthalidone Reviews, chlorthalidone-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Chlorthalidone Reviews, chlorthalidone-reviews/ , chlorthalidone-reviews/

Related News


Everything Goes Wrong In David Beckham Kevin Harts Road Trip
Trump tweets about Clinton, Uranium One as Russia probe heats up
Maggie Smith to Depart Downton Abbey After Season 6, Plus More News
Omron HJ-112 Pedometer
7 Clever Ways To Use Lavender
Vitamins for Women: What to Take and When
Teach Kids to Go Gluten-Free
How to Build a Fuel Cell
The Most Delicious Way to Eat More Kale
Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon Will Reunite in Just-Announced TV Show
How to Customize the Google Toolbar
10 Ingredients Every Foodie Needs to Know About This Year
7 High Protein Low-Carb Dinners
The Best Hotels in Seychelles
What to Wear in Disney World in Florida



Date: 01.12.2018, 09:45 / Views: 51194